The Tattered Scroll News, Reviews, & Opinions on Fantasy and Espionage Books


New Fantasy Releases: Week of Sept 1, 2015

Below is this week's list of new fantasy releases, according to Amazon:

-The Dragon Engine (The Blood Dragon Empire) by Andy Remic (sent a sample of this to my Voyage)
-Archangel's Enigma (Guild Hunter) by Nalini Singh
-Twelve Kings in Sharakhai: The Song of Shattered Sands: Book One by Bradley P. Beaulieu
-Windswept: Windswept Book One by Adam Rakunas
-Archmage (Homecoming) by R.A. Salvatore
-A Red-Rose Chain: An October Daye Novel (October Daye Series Book 9) by Seanan McGuire
-Hunter by Mercedes Lackey
-Updraft by Fran Wilde
-Crucible Zero: A House Immortal Novel by Devon Monk
-Chapelwood: The Borden Dispatches (Borden Dispatches, The) by Cherie Priest
-The Mortality Principle (Rogue Angel) by Alex Archer
-By Divine Right (The Darkwater Saga): A Novella by Patrick W. Carr (FREE. I need to read the 3rd book in his first trilogy, but I can say the first 2 books were excellent)
-The Death House by Sarah Pinborough
-Dragon Heart: A Fantasy Novel by Cecelia Holland
-The Hammer and the Blade: An Egil & Nix Novel by Paul S. Kemp (rerelease with new publisher)


Fantasy E-Book Deals Updated (LOTS of Good Sales)

For the first time in a year, I've updated the Fantasy E-Book deals here. I've removed all of the books that are always on sale, to highlight the books that are really discounted. I would imagine that some of these deals expire at the end of August, so take a look before the month ends. Its been a long time since I've seen so many popular books on sale at the same time.


New Fantasy Releases: Week of August 25, 2015

Getting this blog going again by starting with a couple of posts today, including this list of new releases. I'll also list some other books that came out this month, in case you missed them.

-A Memory of Flames Complete eBook Collection by Stephen Deas (I had no idea this series had grown to 10 books. $39.99 isn't bad for a 10 book collection).
-Secondhand Souls: A Novel by Christopher Moore
-The Bitterbynde Trilogy: The Ill-Made Mute, The Lady of the Sorrows, The Battle of Evernight by Cecilia Dart-Thornton
-Dream Paris (The Dream World Book 2) by Tony Ballantyne
-Forces from Beyond (Ghost Finders Novel, A) by Simon R. Green
-Pathfinder Tales: Liar's Island: A Novel by Tim Pratt (sounds interesting, downloaded a sample)
-The Path of Anger: The Book and the Sword: 1 by Anthoine Rouaud (sounds interesting, downloaded a sample)

From earlier this month:
-Fool's Quest: Book II of the Fitz and the Fool trilogy by Robin Hobb
-The Fifth Season (The Broken Earth) by N.K. Jemisin
-Penric's Demon by Lois McMaster Bujold (this actually came out in July, but I haven't seen much mention of it. Thought some of you might be interested, since it is a novella set in the world of the Chalion series)
-Court of Fives by Kate Elliott
-The Rise of the Automated Aristocrats: A Burton & Swinburne Adventure by Mark Hodder
-Hallow Point (Mick Oberon Job Book 2) by Ari Marmell


Reading Diary: August 25, 2015 (Knight’s Shadow, Half A War)

I recently finished reading Knight's Shadow (The Greatcoats Book 2) by Sebastien de Castell. If you happen to follow me on Twitter, you already know how much I loved this book. While this series is only 2 books long at the moment (I think the series is planned for 4 books?), it has become my favorite in-progress fantasy series. Not only that, but it has a chance of making my all-time list. Heck, I would Knight's Shadow right up there as one of my favorite fantasy books...ever. High praise, but the book and the characters deserve it. It was just a phenomenal, emotional read (as was the first book). For me, the characters are what make this book great...their banter, and their obvious devotion to each other. Great, great stuff.

I'm also about 30% into Half a War (Shattered Sea Book 3) by Joe Abercrombie and I'm not as enthralled with it, as I was with book 2 (Half the World). Half the World is probably my favorite book of Abercrombie's. But while Half a War is fine, its definitely a drop off from book 2. I'm continuing to read it, but I'll likely find something else to read, too.


Reading Diary: July 9, 2015 (The Unwanteds, Tower Lord, Knight’s Shadow)

Things haven been quiet around here lately, as I've spent all of my free time the last 8 weeks packing, purging, etc. We are scheduled to close on the sale of our current house, and the purchase of a new house, on the same day next week. Its amazing how much junk we've accumulated in the last 10 years. While it has been good to purge and get rid of a lot of stuff, it has taken an enormous amount of time. But, if call goes well, it will all be over in a few days. We'll be in no big rush to unpack after moving...we need a break. And I want my reading time back!

While I haven't had much time to read, I have had a little and wanted to give a quick recap:

I've read the first two books in The Unwanteds series by Lisa McMann. Since I'm starting to get the itch for my first reread of Harry Potter, the reviews for The Unwanteds caught my eye: "For fans of Harry Potter and The Hunger Games". Now, I have read THG so I can't compare this series to it, but I do see the comparison's to Harry Potter. A good part of the first novel is young kids learning they have magic, and how to use it. And there were times where the magic in The Unwanteds reminded me of HP. I wouldn't say this series is close to HP (level of enjoyment) for me yet, but it was pretty good. It feels a bit younger, and the world-building isn't at the same level. If you need a break from dark fantasy, and are open to middle grade series, I think its worth giving a look to the first book.

I think I am ready to give up on Tower Lord by Anthony Ryan. Like most readers, I though the first book was awesome. And having read the reviews of TL, I thought I would be prepared for how different it is from the first book. Early on, I kinda enjoyed having the new POV characters. But as the book has progressed, I've enjoyment and desire to continue reading TL have evaporated. Vaelin is too different from the guy I liked in Blood Song, Frentis was tough to read for the first half (better now), and Reva and Lyrna I'm just not finding very interesting. And I really don't seem to care so much for where the story is going (or not going). I can't seem to read more than a couple of pages before I'm ready to put it down and read something else. Seeing the reactions to the third book (released this week), I'm even more inclined to just give up and pretend Blood Song was a standalone book.

The Greatcoats series by Sebastien de Castell is quickly turning into one of my favorite ongoing series (right up there with Brian Staveley's series). I'm about 150 pages into Knight's Shadow and loving it just as much as the first book. I just love spending time with Falci, Brasti and Kest. And I love Castell's writing style and the witty banter between the characters is awesome. If I could recommend one series to read right now, this is the one.